Three months have been and gone and I am now finishing my last week with Musselburgh Baptist in Dunedin. I preached my first Sunday here, and I will preach my last one too. I am doing a narrative, which means the sermon is one big story. The story is the tax collector Zacchaeus who wants to see Jesus, and climbs up a tree to do so. He goes on to show Jesus his true heart, and Jesus proclaims him to be a member of the family of God, much to the shock of the crowd who saw him as a dirty rotten scoundrel.

For the last few weeks I have been mountain biking, and I have loved it. I mentioned in my last post that I had a few spills last time I went up. Well last night I didn’t have as many accidents, but as I was going down I felt like I’d taken a knock to my ankle and wondered if there might be a bit of blood. Upon getting to the bottom I discovered there was some good blood, as the photo shows.

Bloody ankle

Bloody ankle

So I’m hobbling round a bit today, which isn’t good, especially when I don’t have a car any more! If you check out my second post you will see the Suzuki Alto I’ve been driving around the mean streets of Dunedin. But last week it started overheating, and it has since been returned to its owner for a bit of a check-up. So I’ve been left with my trusty bike as transport, and of course walking. So I’m hoping my ankle becomes less painful quickly, as my limited transport options sans car have now been reduced further.

As I near the end of my time in Dunedin, I feel like I have done a good job of seeing much of the amazing scenery Dunedin offers (thanks to Sophie and a couple of other friends). Last week Sophie and I went to another amazing place, this one on the peninsula. Called the Chasm, it has incredible views out to the most vast sea, and also features, as the name suggests, an enormous chasm. We ventured down into it and took a photo with me in it to give an idea of the scale of it. I am pretty small in the picture, so look for the pink circle around me.

The Chasm

The Chasm

The sea views and cliffs are simply stunning. I’ve included another picture below (photo credit: Soph http://www.flickr.com/photos/73575030@N00/ ).

So to wrap things up, I have had a fantastic time down here in Dunedin. I have really enjoyed meeting loads of new people, and I’ve loved having the experience of being in a new city which is quite different to Auckland. Being exposed to people who (as a whole) are different to Aucklanders has been really beneficial.

Of course I have missed my friends and family, but I will be home soon to see them. I have gained a new appreciation for how pretty simply incredible this part of the country is, and I now want to explore more of the South Island before going to other places.

Look forward to catching up with you all soon.

Ryan

Coastline near the Chasm

Coastline near the Chasm

